Get a partial divorce kit for free for a limited time.
Register or log in to access your forms
To generate your personalized divorce forms, you'll first need to register:
- For Step 1 Divorce Forms: register as a free user.
- For Step 2 Divorce Forms: register as a paid user (paid users can access all of the forms).
If you have already registered for the applicable forms, you'll just need to log in to gain access.
We split the divorce process into two logical steps. Step 1 is to initiate the divorce and Step 2 is to finalize the divorce. We provide everything needed to initiate the divorce (i.e. the "Step 1 Documents") for free. Our free divorce kit includes:
- Original Petition for Divorce (the “Petition”) – The Petition is the request for divorce. It is the document that is filed with court clerk that formally initiates the divorce process.
- Civil Case Information Sheet – Some counties require a case information sheet be filed along with the Petition.
- Waiver of Citation (the “Waiver”) – Texas law requires that you notify your spouse that you have filed for divorce. The Waiver is the document that shows the court that your spouse has received notice. If your spouse will agree to sign, the Waiver is the easiest way to comply with the notice requirements.
- Step 1 Instructions – These instructions will explain step-by-step how, when, and where to use the documents above.
We've divided the divorce process into two steps. Step 1 is to initiate the divorce and Step 2 is to finalize the divorce. The complete divorce kit includes both Steps 1 and 2 (the entire package). The FAQ above outlines what is included in the free kit (i.e. Step 1).
The Step 2 Documents (i.e. the documents needed to finalize the divorce) include:
- Final Decree of Divorce (the “Decree”) – This document finalizes your divorce. It must be signed by both spouses and presented to the judge. The Decree will dissolve the marriage and adjudicate your (and your spouse’s) rights and obligations after the dissolution of the marriage.
- Hearing Testimony – This is a short script that you can read to the judge when presenting the Decree to the judge so you don't forget what to say.
- Step 2 Instructions – These step-by-step instructions will explain how, when and where to use the documents above.
Yes and no. We provide a partial divorce kit for free that includes all of the forms needed to initiate your divorce. When you file for divorce, the divorce court will charge you a filing fee. The filing fee is typically between $200 and $300 depending on the county in which you file. This fee is paid to the clerk of the court.
If your divorce has complicating factors, you'll need a lawyer to shepherd you through the divorce process.
Our goal is to empower spouses to complete an agreed divorce without a lawyer. We hope that by providing the documents needed to initiate the divorce for free, you will be encouraged to try to get your divorce without a lawyer. We hope that after you see how easy Step 1 is, you will feel confident and empowered to complete your divorce yourself, without a lawyer.
In order to use our divorce forms, you must meet certain requirements.
Uncontested Divorce: Your divorce must be uncontested (also known as agreed divorce or mutual divorce). The most common kind of uncontested divorce is when both spouses agree on the terms of the divorce. What is an uncontested divorce?
Texas Residency: One spouse must have lived in Texas for six months (both spouses must live in Texas if they have children together that are minors).